Actress Chika Ike:”I Am A Victim Of Domestic Violence”

image

Actress Chike Ike pens an open letter
to her fans, opening up about the
physical abuse she suffered in the
hands of the man she called her
husband for five years. Find her story
below…

The past three years has been a
very emotional period for me. I
focused my energy on work and
to build back my self esteem. its
been really hard for me to come
out straight and talk about this
because sometimes I pinch
myself to wake up and not
believe that I was a victim of
domestic violence. I’ve been
through a lot in my life, faced a
lot of challenges but this is one
topic I’ve tried so hard to avoid
and have been waiting for the
right time but I have come to a
resolve   that there’s really no
right time because every second
of the day,lives are being lost
due to domestic violence. I was
a victiim of domestic violence in
my marriage and that was the
singular reason I left my
marriage, aside other reasons.

Growing up as a girl. I was always
known as the sweetest kid on the
block, before I got married, I have been
through some relationships and for
once no man had ever laid a finger on
me. The first time it happened in my
marriage I didn’t understand it because
I am not the type of woman a man
beats but I guess there are no types. It
just happens and no woman deserves
it. As a young girl I thought it was
love or his way of expressing his
emotions,after every beating he
pleads , cries and says it won’t happen
again, once again I thought it was love
and made excuses for him.  Over the
years when it kept happening
consistently I started looking for other
definitions for it. I started loosing my
self pride,self esteem , self worth, and
most painfully i lost a pregnancy
(Miscarriage) I almost lost my life in
the process then I realised how serious
and abnormal it really was.
I have heard and read a lot of
accusations from ignorant people who
don’t know my story,I guess that’s
why they are ignorant.  I was 20yrs old
and very naïve to the world when I
got married .“ They said I married for
money“ LOL. I was married to a
corporate guy,who had a 9_5 job in a
bank, Lives in a rented 2 bedroom
apartment at Egbe.. So do the maths! .
I married for love. I did a traditional
wedding. A white wedding and a
court wedding. So that’s how much I
wanted to be married forever. For five
years I hoped, prayed & wished that
one day it will all change. But the last
straw that broke the carmels back was
during a heated argument he threw a
glass  jug to my face and I dogged it
and it shattered on d wall. I saw death
flash before me and I made a decision
to save my life. I left my marriage.
Am not saying  this to draw pity from
anyone because we are entitled to our
opinions and believes. I am not also
saying this to discourage people from
falling in love because its a beautiful
feeling and I still believe in it. I am
saying this to educate, share and talk
about my experience as a victim of
domestic violence because it is real.

Posted By K2I

About iamk2i

IamK2I. A Radio OAP. Media Is My Life!!!

Posted on August 10, 2013, in News. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

