Nobody Forced Me Into Islam, Charity Uzoechina

image

The issues is generating controversy
here and there; some say she was
brain-washed and forced to abandon
her first religion, Christianity and
accept Islam by a Northern traditional
ruler.
The conversion to Islam of 25-year-old
Charity Uzoechina, daughter of Pastor
Raymond Uzoechina of the Redeem
Christian Church of God, Kwankwashe,
Suleja, continues to generate
controversy.
Her father accused the Estu Nupe,
Alhaji Yahaya Abubukar, of
hypnotizing his daughter, who has
since changed her name to A’isha, to
embrace Islam. A’isha, who hails from
Asaba, Delta State,came to Abuja at the
age of 10 when her father relocated
from Lagos.
After her secondary school education
at Army Day Secondary School
Asokoro, Abuja she got admission into
Federal Polytechnic , Bida to read Public
Administration. She, however,
withdrew from the course in her first
year. She embraced Islam on February
15, 2013.
In a telephone conversation with
Vanguard yesterday, Charity insisted
that nobody forced her into the religion
and that she should be left alone.
She said: “I did it on my own. Nobody
forced or enticed me to become a
Muslim. I converted to Islam on my own.
Am I the first to convert to Islam in
Nigeria? So what is it?”
Her father, Pastor Raymond Uzoechina,
had earlier said that Charity was
abducted and hypnotised to say and do
what she was doing. He challenged the
Nupe to produce Charity in court for
cross-examination by his lawyer.
*Charity
However, Charity said: “I know people
are influencing my father and I am
praying for him and other members of
my family to know that this is the right
religion.”
On whether or not she would go home
with her father if eventually the rift was
settled, Charity, who has changed her
name to Aisha, insisted that she was not
interested in going back home with her
father.
She said: “I am not going back to my
father because of his actions in recent
times. He has been threatening me and at
my age (25), I am free to practice any
religion of my choice and so, I should be
left to decide.
“If I want to sue him to court, I can at
this my age because it is my right to
practice any religion I want.”
Meanwhile, Niger State chapter of
Christian Association of Nigeria, CAN,
has waded into matter and hoped that
the issue would be resolved out of court
before the August 1 date for ruling on the
appeal filed by Pastor Uzoechina on the
earlier ruling of the Sharia, granting the
palace custody of Charity.
Niger State CAN Chairman, Rev. Musa
Dada, told Vanguard that CAN had
visited the Etsu Nupe’s palace along with
other CAN officials from Abuja officially
on the matter and that plans were on to
settle the case out of court.
Rev. Dada, who was reluctant to discuss
the issue in details, simply said: “We have
met with the Etsu Nupe and other stake
holders involved at the Etsu’s palace and
we have made progress.
“I can assure you that probably before the
August 1 (Thursday) date, when the case
is expected to come up at the Sharia
Court, Bida, something positive is likely
to come out which will put an end to the
rift.”

Posted By K2I

About iamk2i

IamK2I. A Radio OAP. Media Is My Life!!!

Posted on July 29, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

